154. Constitution of the Commission.- (1) Government may constitute an Art and Heritage Commission for the State.

(2) The Commission shall consist of :-

(i) Secretary, Local Self Governments Department who shall be the Chairman;

(ii) Director of Panchayats;

(iii) Director of Municipal Administration:

(iv) Chief Town Planner

(v) Director, Archaeology Department:

(vi) Chief Engineer (Building), PWD; and

(vii) Two persons having knowledge and experience in Art, Architecture or History, nominated by Government.

155. Functions of the Commission.- (1) Functions of the Commission shall be-

(i) to identify areas of heritage and monuments to be preserved

(ii) to identify ,areas of architectural importance and building to be preserved;

(iii) to identify places or streets where a particular form of or group of architectural forms of buildings alone may be permitted and to prepare model plans, elevations, etc; for that place or street.

(iv) to examine architectural features in respect of any building or parts thereof or their aesthetic vis-a-vis the existing structures in a particular area or street;

(v) to advise Government or Municipality on any subject mentioned above and referred to it; and

(vi) to submit periodical reports.

(2) The Municipality may insist any particular architectural or aesthetic form of construction on any street or area if so advised by the Commission.